What's your opinions on the AX10

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's your opinions on the AX10

Other than having a $99 Nitto buggy when I was 15 or so, way back in the mid-80's, I'm new to the whole RC thing. I also played around with my brothers cars a tiny bit, he was into the nitro stuff. Recently I got an RC bug up my ***, was in a horrible mood and figured "Screw it, I'm going to a store and buying something", so in March I ran to J&C Hobbies to look around. My original intent was to find something I could build a scaler type rig out of, but they didn't have much to choose from. (I wish I would have waited a few months, then Raceway would have been just down the road as opposed to an hour drive away!)
    I wound up going home with an E-Maxx. I knew I was kind of "settling", but I was just in a mood where I wasn't leaving without something and the Maxx looked like fun. Don't get me wrong, the Maxx was a blast to drive, but I eventually just couldn't get past the fact that it's kind of ridiculous looking (Being almost as wide as it is long) and the fact that the independent suspension pretty much kills any thoughts of making a real crawler out of it.
    Now I know that it can be done, but I really didn't want to start hacking into a brand new Maxx and still not be happy with the result. After some searching on RCC.com I found out about the AX10 and ordered one from CKRC, then sold the E-Maxx to a PBB member.
    I was just wondering what you guys think about AX10's in general? I'm sure some of you guys have been doing this for years, fabbing things by hand and creating beasts out of random parts, then all of a sudden comes the AX10 and it seems like it's everything that 95% of people would ever want. To me, it's almost like the RC version of the Jeep TJ, where all of a sudden you'll have a bunch of newbies (Like myself) getting into the hobby, for better or worse...